safeguarding FAQs

What is the difference between safeguarding and protection?

Safeguarding is everyone’s responsibility, while protection is a statutory responsibility.

Do all services need to safeguard and protect children?

Yes, however the level should be proportional to the service and the risk identified. The QAF Guidance provides 4 levels of services that work with children:

1. Services where children are known to live (e.g. women’s refuges and teenage parent accommodation).

2. Services where children may live.

3. Services where children may visit (this is most services).

4. Services where children neither live nor visit, but clients still have access to them.

Providers need to show how they would alert the social services if there was a child protection issue and how they would manage it internally.

Services are not expected to lead on child protection investigations, but should demonstrate their alerting procedure and what is in place to safeguard and protect children.

If there have been no safeguarding issues, how do you prove you have met the standard?

A service will not be penalised for having no safeguarding or protection issues in the inspection period. However, staff and clients need to demonstrate that they understand what safeguarding and protection is, and what they would do if an issue arose. A level A or B service would possibly test the policies and procedures with clients.

How do you evidence professional boundaries?

Services need to demonstrate that staff and clients are aware of what professional boundaries are and how they are kept. For example staff are aware that they cannot give service users money, and if they are in a situation where this may occur, that there are procedures to manage this.

Will the section regarding Safeguarding and Protection for abuse be updated in regards to the new ISA regulations?


Will there be support for Safeguarding training?

Good practice is for authorities to provide free safeguarding training for agencies working in their authorities. Contact your Local Safeguarding Children’s Board for details of what is provided in your area.

What is the CAF (Common Assessment Framework)?

The Common Assessment Framework (CAF) is a key part of delivering frontline services that are integrated and focused around the needs of children and young people. The CAF is a standardized approach to conducting an assessment of a child’s additional needs and deciding how those needs should be met. It can be used by practitioners across children’s services in England.

The CAF will promote more effective, earlier identification of additional needs, particularly in universal services. It is intended to provide a simple process for a holistic assessment of a child’s needs and strengths, taking account of the role of parents, carers and environmental factors on their development. Practitioners will then be better placed to agree, with the child and family, about what support is appropriate. The CAF will also help to improve integrated working by promoting co-ordinated service provision.?

Any person who is working with a child can request a CAF assessment and lead on it. For example, a support officer in a teenage parent accommodation service can start a CAF assessment.