right to control trailblazers

Five Trailblazers were launched on 13 December 2010:

  • Essex County Council
  • Leicester County Council
  • London Borough of Barnet
  • London Borough of Newham
  • part of Surrey County Council (Epsom & Ewell Borough Council and Reigate & Banstead Borough Council)

Two further Trailblazers were launched on 1 March 2011:

  • Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Sheffield City Council

The last Trailblazer, Greater Manchester (including Manchester City Council, Oldham Council, Bury Council, Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council and Trafford Council) was launched on 1 April 2011.

The syntesis evaluation of the Right to Control pilot was published on the 1st July 2013. 

For the first time, disabled people in the Trailblazer areas can combine money from different state funding stream – eg as a cash payment – to be spent on whatever they think most appropriate for their needs. This will allow a more personalised service joining up housing, employment and community care.

Trailblazers (partnerships between local authorities, Jobcentre Plus and disabled people’s organisations) will work with disabled people to develop individual support plans. Each plan will make effective use of all the funding available to an individual to meet their goals.

Related documents

Related links